I’m a little jealous of Zooey Deschanel. She’s quirky, smart, and beautiful, with a career I would gladly fight against Grizzly bears to have. She’s appeared in a lot of films, a handful of which were unmemorable, and many of her roles have been bit-parts and supporting performances. But she has come a long way and grew fast into a leading lady; first grabbing our attention alongside Jennifer Aniston in The Good Girl  as an oddball shop assistant, then in Jon Favreau’s Elf, as Will Ferrell’s adorable love interest Jovie, and again as Sarah Jessica Parker’s quirky roommate Kit in romantic comedy Failure To Launch. But her days of merely acting aside the leads are far behind her, starring as leading lady herself in films opposite Mark Wahlberg (The Happening), Jim Carey (Yes Man), and Joseph Gordon-Levitt (500 Days Of Summer), and most recently she has made the transition from the big screen to TV in new comedy series New Girl, which centres around Jess (Deschanel), who after finding her boyfriend in bed with another woman, moves in with three single guys she met on the internet.

I’m not a big fan of American sit-coms. I hate laugh tracks and more often than not they’re just not funny or funny enough. So I was hesitant to watch this. But New Girl has been a pleasant and refreshing surprise. There is no laugh-track for one (thank god! If something’s funny I’ll laugh. I don’t need a prompt.). It’s light-hearted and incredibly funny with characters that are, while slightly cliché (there’s the good-looking one, the slightly stupid but funny one, and the token black guy), still lovable and entertaining enough to look past their stereotypes, in weekly episodes that detail their humorous and all to relatable situations in day-to-day life. And to top it off Zooey Deschanel has a wardrobe to die for! The episodes are short which means constant laughs and while it’s an ongoing story arc, each episode has its own dilemma that’s wrapped up in twenty-ish minutes. So if you need a pick me up or just want to throw on an episode you don’t have to start from episode one (I recommend the ‘Bad In Bed’ episode which is by far my favourite.) I’m only on episode #9 (I watched all 9 in one sitting because I couldn’t tear myself away) so there’s plenty more to go. And there’s a chance it might fall flat on it’s face. But I have high hopes for it and would for it to succeed. I’ve already found myself very attached to these characters so it better work out!!!!!

About charlotteweston

I'm a traveller, not a tourist

One response »

Leave a Reply

