You’ll notice not all the categories are listed. I know little about sound editing or mixing, I haven’t seen any of the nominated short films, several of the documentaries or the foreign language films so I’d be taking a shot in the dark with those predictions. Instead I’ll just go with what I do know.

 

Best Picture

I’ve seen all but three of these films. I missed Midnight In Paris and Moneyball, and Extremely Loud And Incredibly close hasn’t been released yet. But taking into account critics reviews and Oscar Buzz my money’s on The Artist.

 

Actor in a Leading Role

         Demián Bichir in “A Better Life

        George Clooney in “The Descendants

Jean Dujardin in “The Artist

Gary Oldman in “Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy”

Brad Pitt in “Moneyball

 

Again I can’t say much for Brad Pitt’s performance in Moneyball because I haven’t seen it. Nor have I seen A Better Life. I can say that Gary Oldman gave a memorable performance in Tinker Taylor and as standard George Clooney shone in The Descendents. But Jean Dujardin is by far the most deserving with such an incredible performance as the sensational George Valentin.

 

 Actor in a Supporting Role

Kenneth Branagh in “My Week with Marilyn

Jonah Hill in “Moneyball

Nick Nolte in “Warrior

Christopher Plummer in “Beginners

Max von Sydow in “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close

 

Of the two I’ve seen, My Week With Marilyn and Warrior, I’d like to see the award go to Nick Nolte. But honestly I think Kenneth Branagh will walk away with the award. Seeing as I haven’t seen the majority of the films in this category I could be very wrong.

 

Actress in a Leading Role

      Glenn Close in “Albert Nobbs

Viola Davisin “The Help

Rooney Mara in “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Meryl Streep in “The Iron Lady

Michelle Williams in “My Week with Marilyn

 

Both Michelle Williams and Meryl Streep took on challenging roles, portraying two very iconic figures in two films which otherwise where dull and lifeless.  Rooney Mara was exceptional but no better than Noomi Rapace in the earlier Swedish film that in my opinion was better. I haven’t seen Albert Nobbs, but Viola Davis gave such a touching and emotive performance in The Help it would be a shame to see this award go to anyone else.

 

Actress in a Supporting Role

       Bérénice Bejo in “The Artist

      Jessica Chastain in “The Help

      Melissa McCarthy in “Bridesmaids

      Janet McTeer in “Albert Nobbs

      Octavia Spencer in “The Help

 
Jessica Chastain, Jessica Chastain, Jessica Chastain. Her performance in The Help as Celia Foote was charismatic, heart-warming, and all round incredible. She shone in one of the most memorable performances of the year. No one deserves it more. But honestly I think Octavia Spenser is more likely to walk away with it.

 

Animated Feature Film

A Cat in Paris” Alain Gagnol and Jean-Loup Felicioli

Chico & Rita” Fernando Trueba and Javier Mariscal

Kung Fu Panda 2” Jennifer Yuh Nelson

Puss in Boots” Chris Miller

Rango” Gore Verbinski

 

I’ve seen one of these films, Kung-Fu Panda and I didn’t think much of it; though the first was brilliantly entertaining. I’ve heard nothing but great reviews about Puss In Boots so my money’s on the cat.

 

Directing

The Artist” Michel Hazanavicius

The Descendants” Alexander Payne

Hugo” Martin Scorsese

Midnight in Paris” Woody Allen

The Tree of Life” Terrence Malick

 

Hmmm, it’s a toughy. And though I haven’t seen Midnight in Paris, I’ve seen the majority of Allen’s films and have marvelled at his work. My money’s on either Allen or Terrence Malick! The Tree Of Life was a beautiful piece of directing but it felt like two films had been merged together, half a beautiful exploration into a broken family, the other halfJurassicPark.

 

Music (Original Score)

The Adventures of Tintin” John Williams

The Artist” Ludovic Bource

Hugo“HowardShore

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy” Alberto Iglesias

War Horse” John Williams

 

The Artist is a front runner and in a film with no voice the music provides one integral to telling the story. It was a character in itself. However John Williams provides a beautiful soundtrack to Warhorse and with his name thrown in the hat twice he may well take home the prize.

 

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

The Descendants” Screenplay by Alexander Payne and Nat Faxon & Jim Rash

Hugo” Screenplay by John Logan

The Ides of March” Screenplay by George Clooney & Grant Heslov and Beau Willimon

Moneyball” Screenplay by Steven Zaillian and Aaron Sorkin. Story by Stan Chervin

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy” Screenplay by Bridget O’Connor & Peter Straughan

 

This is a difficult one. I’m not confident for Ides of March, or Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy; which leaves me torn between The Descendants and Hugo, two films that while they disappointed me slightly were beautifully scripted. And Then there’s Moneyball which I haven’t seen but have heard nothing but great things. But as I must predict, I’m placing my chips with The Descendants.

 

Writing (Original Screenplay)

The Artist” Written by Michel Hazanavicius

Bridesmaids” Written by Annie Mumolo & Kristen Wiig

Margin Call” Written by J.C. Chandor

Midnight in Paris” Written by Woody Allen

A Separation” Written by Asghar Farhadi

I’d like to see Bridesmaids win. It’s an incredibly funny, sharp and witty script, possibly the best comedy last year. But realistically It’ll be between A midnight in Paris and The Artist.

 

If I don’t get 90% of these right I will be seriously pissed!!! Let this be known.

About charlotteweston

I'm a traveller, not a tourist

One response »

  1. Craig Kell says:

    Great post, I can’t wait to make my predictions post on my blog but I do like your predictions here. Keep an eye on tonight’s SAG results in the acting awards that usually has a big say in the Oscar race 🙂

Leave a Reply

