I’m cutting it fine I know with only hours to go till the Awards. Which I’m going to miss!!!!! Gutted.

I’ve left out the awards for Technical stuff and the Foreign films, as I neither know anything about the technical side, pay any real attention to it, and haven’t seen any in the category for Foreign language films. What’s left is as follows, with how I want it to go.

 

Best Film:

The Artist

The Descendants

Drive

The Help

Tinker Taylor Soldier Spy

It’s a toss up for me between Drive, which was by far my favourite film of 2011, and The Help; again another great film and deeply moving. But what I want I don’t always get and I’m thinking The Artist may come up winner here.

 

Outstanding British Film:

My Week With Marilyn

Senna

Shame

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

We Need To Talk About Kevin

Another tough one. For me it’s between We Need To Talk About Kevin and Shame. Both incredible films, thought provoking and unflinching in unearthing emotional struggle and detail of character. Of the two, if I’m forced to choose though, then I will have to go with We Need To Talk About Kevin.

 

Outstanding debut by a British writer, director or producer:

Attack The Block – Joe Cornish (director/writer)

Black Pond – Will Sharpe (director/writer), Tom Kingsley (director), Sarah Brocklehurst (producer)

Coriolanus – Ralph Fiennes (director)

Submarine – Richard Ayoade (director/writer)

Tyrannosaur – Paddy Considine (director), Diarmid Scrimshaw (producer)

I should probably leave this category out as I’ve seen only one of the seven nominated films. And for that reason I vote for Submarine.

Director:

The Artist – Michel Hazanavicius

Drive – Nicolas Winding Refn

Hugo – Martin Scorsese

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – Tomas Alfredson

We Need To Talk About Kevin – Lynne Ramsay

The Artist. That’s an easy one. It’s a bold move, and one that has proven incredibly successful.

 

Leading actor:

Brad Pitt – Moneyball

Gary Oldman – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

George Clooney – The Descendants

Jean Dujardin – The Artist

Michael Fassbender – Shame

Both Jean Dujardin and Michael Fassbender gave outstanding performances. But personally I think Fassbender should take the award for what is an unflinching, raw, extremely emotive and downright incredible performance. His private parts deserve an award of their own too, sharing a lengthy amount of screen time.

 

Leading actress:

Berenice Bejo – The Artist

Meryl Streep – The Iron Lady

Michelle Williams – My Week With Marilyn

Tilda Swinton – We Need To Talk About Kevin

Viola Davis – The Help

Tilda Swinton hands down. She was incredible.

 

Supporting actor:

Christopher Plummer – Beginners

Jim Broadbent – The Iron Lady

Jonah Hill – Moneyball

Kenneth Branagh – My Week With Marilyn

Philip Seymour Hoffman – The Ides Of March

Kenneth Branagh made for a convincing Sir Laurence Olivier. Very entertaining.

 

Supporting actress:

Carey Mulligan – Drive

Jessica Chastain – The Help

Judi Dench – My Week With Marilyn

Melissa McCarthy – Bridesmaids

Octavia Spencer – The Help

Jessica Chastain, Jessica Chastain, Jessica Chastain. She gave such a warm, emotive performance with incredible on-screen charisma. Effortless to watch and so enjoyable. If she doesn’t win I’m going to make her an award just like it.

 

Documentary:

George Harrison: Living In The Material World

Project Nim

Senna

I’ve only seen Project Nim so I reckon I’ll just go with that. It’s a brilliant and insightful documentary that had my in tears of sadness and joy pretty much from the moment I hit the play button.

 

Screenplay:

The Artist – Michel Hazanavicius

Bridesmaids – Annie Mumolo, Kristen Wiig

The Guard – John Michael McDonagh

The Iron Lady – Abi Morgan

Midnight In Paris – Woody Allen

Midnight In Paris for its imaginative and breath taking love letter toParis, the incredible characters and the 1920’s. Woody Allen at his finest.

 

Adapted screenplay:

The Descendants – Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon, Jim Rash

The Help – Tate Taylor

The Ides Of March – George Clooney, Grant Heslov, Beau Willimon

Moneyball – Steven Zaillian, Aaron Sorkin

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy – Bridget O’Connor, Peter Straughan

Most definitely The Help.

 

Original music:

The Artist

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

Hugo

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

War Horse

The Artist. The music in this film was as much a character as any of the actors, and spoke volumes when they had no voice. The music is a beautiful piece of story telling.

About charlotteweston

I'm a traveller, not a tourist

Leave a Reply

