I’ve been quite lazy on the blogging front lately. Felt like I lost my motivation for it for a minute (or month). But looking back over the last few months I think it’s just a distinct lack of great films, or truly terrible ones that have left me with ‘Meh, alright’ films I’ve had no desire to write about.

 That is until now.

 Over the last week or two I’ve put in some serious time in front of the goggle box and a little at the movies, resulting in some truly memorable viewing experiences. Not every film I’ve seen over said weeks have been new or a first time watch but sometimes seeing a film for the billionth time makes it even better. And my trip to the cinema this week proved to be one of the best film choice decisions in some time. But of all the films I put countless hours into watching recently one stands out the most.

 Another Earth.  It’s an incredible film; one that would no doubt of rivalled Drive for 2011 best film had I seen it on release last year. I only wish I’d got to see it on the big screen. My 32” TV just doesn’t do it justice.

 Another Earth centres round an intelligent girl whose life turns upside down after a fatal accident. Four years on and still struggling to cope, Rhoda (Brit Marling) seeks forgiveness for what she’s done but chickens out, instead forming a false relationship with the man she hurts the most. The film may be called Another Earth but that part of the story is incidental, a minor plot point connected to the central story. And that’s what makes it so great; its subtlety. The story of earth two, a planet identical to earth with another you up there flows parallel and seamless, entwined with Rhoda’s story. They are complimenting storylines that together with a building tension and eerie atmosphere make an intriguing, very refreshing but familiar and gripping love/betrayal/loss story.

 It’s a small cast of practically unknowns, Brit Marling (Rhoda) most notably gave up a career and job with Goldman Sachs (banking firm) to become an actress which lead to her both starring in, co-producing, and co writing Another Earth. Brit’s performance is delivered with subtlety but underlying strength that shines through in some incredibly difficult and emotive scenes. William Mapother (John Burroughs) also gives a raw and very moving performance, proving there’s more than one acting talent in the family as younger cousin to Tom Cruise. Tom Cruise is a good actor right? Um…perhaps not.

 Made with a shoe string budget of $200,000 Another Earth more than made a return with Box office making just over $1,776,000. That’s pretty incredible for a group of unknowns, including Director Mike Cahill who until Another Earth had no feature lengths under his belt.

 I fell in love with Another Earth, its story and its central characters almost instantly and honestly think it’s one of my favourite films. The film finished somewhat open-ended, furthering your intrigue. And I for one would love an Another Earth II. But I’m 99% sure that won’t ever happen, and probably for the best. Sequels always have a habit of tainting the original. But I would love to know what life on Earth two is like.

 It’s not the most uplifting film, so don’t watch it if you’re looking for a little pick me up. But it’s not so depressing you won’t want to watch it again, which I’m already thinking about doing.

It’s an incredible, thought-provoking and emotive film that packs a heavy punch, and at times it’s visually breath-taking. I won’t forget it in a hurry.

 Damn you….give me a sequel!!!!!!

 4.5/5

About charlotteweston

I'm a traveller, not a tourist

Leave a Reply

