I may just throw up in my mouth saying this, with my long-standing dislike of Kristen Stewart and her one-dimensional acting and samey characters, but I have to admit, albeit through gritted teeth, that she isn’t that bad as Snow White. With her lip biting, breathy dialogue and excessive amounts of running her fingers through her hair kept to a minimum her performance is in fact enjoyable. Yep, I just threw up. What makes it worse, for me anyway, is that she looks pretty amazing in it too. I have some serious green-eyes monster syndrome going on here if you hadn’t noticed.

Anyhow, even without Kristen Stewart the film was really enjoyable. Not what I was expecting, I had imagined something far more action heavy, but it didn’t disappoint. It’s well paced, setting up the main action with a speedy back-story, not drawn out like so many origin stories that leave anyone familiar with the origin twiddling their thumbs. But the main action doesn’t come till the last third of the film, before that it’s mainly Snow White (Stewart) running away a lot and Charlize Theron (The Evil Queen or Ravenna) fighting the early signs of aging; but even this is really entertaining. This is in large part due to the eight, yes eight, dwarfs played by Ray Winston, Bob Hoskins, Ian McShane, Nick Frost, Eddie Marsan, Toby Jones, and less familiar Johnny Harris and Brian Gleeson; all seemingly playing some variation of either grumpy or happy. They are by far the best thing about the film.

All round though it’s a great cast, Charlize Theron owns her role but perhaps goes a little OTT with her delivery of the insidious, unruly, and merciless bitch. I mean witch. She clearly took the role far more seriously than her fellow cast mates whose muscle flexing, pretty faces, and light-hearted witty dialogue was more than enough, in fact it works perfectly for this 12A feature aimed at Twi-hards (Kristen Stewart fans) and Hemsworth fans; a predominantly female audience.

Snow White and the Huntsman isn’t particularly thought-provoking but is a great film to just sit back and enjoy. No heavy thinking or close attention required just good old entertainment. It’s a visual feast, full of wildly imaginative stunning locations, beautifully detailed costumes (I love K-Stews dress. I want! I want! I want!), some great action and a little humour from the dwarves. And I guess a little romance. Bleh!

7/10.

About charlotteweston

I'm a traveller, not a tourist

Leave a Reply

