Jane Eyre, on second watch, is far better than the first time I saw it. If I remember correctly when I saw it at the cinema I didn’t like it much at all. But this time round I really enjoyed it. I was far more absorbed in it, and where I originally found it quite boring, was now engrossed. I found this a far more emotive watch.

The story is a slow burner all about the relationship between Edward Rochester (Michael Fassbender) and Jane Eyre (Mia Wasikowska), with little else in between. So if that doesn’t float your boat you’ll be sat twiddling your thumbs. But this time around I was completely captivated by it. By them. Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender have undeniable chemistry, where last time I thought they had none, and a tension which builds frustratingly slow. It almost becomes too much to handle. I desperately wanted Jane and Edward to break with tradition and get it on which inevitably they do. Thank God!

The aesthetic of it with its large imposing manors cold and without intimacy, surrounded by the rolling hills of the countryside mostly bleak and wet give off a strong feeling of loneliness and isolation, yet it draws you in with a warmer climate; a stunning green, grassy landscape under a bright sun and welcomed breeze. It’s a striking contrast like that of the sudden changes in Edward and Jane’s relationship.

I think I enjoyed it far more this time for the exact reason that I had seen it before. I have never read the book, nor knew the story well so that is what I focused on first, this time I could absorb the whole thing. And I’m glad I gave it a second chance. I’ll definitely watch it again, and again, and probably again.

I’m going through a period drama phase for sure. Watching films such as The Duchess, Marie Antoinette, Lawless (if that’s counts), and reading The Great Gatsby, and A Tale of Two Cities, with Wuthering Heights on order. And so many others I want to see and read.

I think the next stage will be wearing era appropriate clothing to watch or read said material in and begin talking like I’ve stepped out from a Charlotte Bronte novel.

About charlotteweston

I'm a traveller, not a tourist

Leave a Reply

